carpetbag.jpg

My primary goal on this tour is enjoying what is at hand, so I had planned to pack quite lightly and just take what I felt were the essentials–sturdy clothing, a mess kit, and art supplies. But one day last week, I heard a knock at my door, and opened it to find absolutely no one….however, a large package sat on my stoop, and I brought it into the house with great curiosity. My dog Katy sniffed it cautiously, and I walked around it, looking for some clue as to its origin. Finding none, I retrieved some scissors, and with great care, slit open the brown paper wrapper. Inside was a magnificent carpetbag, woven from some sort of kilim-type fabric, with sturdy valise handles and a bronze clasp that looked like two hands in prayer position. I opened the bag. I could have sworn I felt the faintest breeze, warm and spicy with odors of cinnamon and cumin, caress my face. I felt deep inside the darkness of the bag, and pulled out a garment, plain but somehow radiant, a soft, voluminous fabric that slithered through my fingers like silk.  It was a cape! Pinned to the cape was this note:

“Dear Karen: This bag contains everything you need for your journey. You have but to reach inside and you will be given whatever you need–note: I say need–not want. I understand your goal for the journey is to gain a full appreciation for what is, what you have, and what you take for granted. We all wish for the moon, but oftentimes the stars are enough. Journey in good health,

She Who Is

This journey may be more than I bargained for.